About Teston Bridge Country Park
Combining 32 acres of grazed meadow, river walks, a children's play area and of course the picturesque 14th century Teston Bridge, this country park makes the most of its beautiful natural setting on the banks of the Medway.
Bridge Meadow, the large grass area adjacent to the car park and playground, is perfect for picnics and ball games. Several events take place here throughout the year, including the famous Kite Festival.
Tutsham Meadow and Coombe Hill are used to graze cattle, and because of this are awash with the colours of native wildflowers in summer. The areas closest to the river tend to flood in winter, creating a natural wetland habitat.
A variety of bird and mammal life can be spotted here too – keep an eye out for the otters which can occasionally be seen hunting along the river
Accessibility and easy access paths
There is an easy access path from the car park to the lock area, returning on the same path. The route is surfaced and flat.
No matter what your ability, this is an ideal place to enjoy walks in the countryside. Take a short stroll around the easy access trail in the park or strike out along the Medway Valley Walk which leads all the way to Rochester in the East (16 miles), or Tonbridge in the West (12 miles). Ordnance Survey Explorer Maps 147 and 148 will come in handy for the most intrepid adventurers!
Dogs are very welcome at Teston Bridge Country Park but must always be under close control.
We ask that owners keep dogs on leads around the car park and play area, but they can be let off the lead in other parts of the park. Please note that dogs are not allowed inside the play area.
At certain times of the year, Tutsham Meadow and Coombe Hill are grazed by cattle and ponies. Signs will be put on gates to tell customers to put dogs on leads at these times.
Bins for dog waste can be found close to the car park, the lock and on the riverside path.
A history of Teston Bridge Country Park
Teston Bridge Country Park opened to the public in autumn 1978, before which it was used for grazing livestock. Two of the meadows are still grazed as part of the site management.
Dating back to the 13th Century and made with Kentish ragstone, the bridge is a well-known feature in the area. The central arch was rebuilt at the end of the 18th Century to improve navigation on the river. Three other arches were rebuilt in 1830, and the whole bridge was restored in 1978.
There has been a lock at Teston since the 1740s. Look out for the ruins of the linseed oil and cattle cake mill which burnt down in 1885. The current lock dates from 1911.
We take huge pride in our Green Flag award. It is a testament to the dedication of our wardens and staff that the park has been given the Green Flag award every year since 2009.