Household waste recycling centres - charges for non-Kent residents

Cross border charging policy

As of 1 April 2023, non-Kent residents who use any of our 19 Household Waste Recycling Centres (HWRCs), will be required to pay £10 to visit.

By non-Kent residents we mean any resident that does not pay Council Tax to one of the following Kent councils:

  • Ashford Borough Council
  • Canterbury City Council
  • Dartford Borough Council
  • Dover District Council
  • Folkestone and Hythe Borough Council
  • Gravesham Borough Council
  • Maidstone Borough Council
  • Sevenoaks District Council
  • Swale Borough Council
  • Thanet District Council
  • Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council
  • Tunbridge Wells Borough Council.

This also means Medway residents will be required to pay the £10 fee.

How to pay the charge

You will only need to pay when visiting your booked HWRC. Payment is not taken at the time of booking.

When booking, non-Kent residents are advised will be sent information of payment options within your booking confirmation email. Our staff will request payment when you arrive and we reserve the right to request proof of residency.

Payment is by debit or credit card only.

Read further information about the decision about the cross border charging policy.

Changes to the Dartford permit scheme

A cross border permit scheme has been in place at Dartford HWRC for over 25 years, commonly known as the Dartford permit scheme. This permit scheme ended on 1 April 2023 and is now managed through the booking system.

This means Dartford residents (those who pay Council Tax to Dartford Borough Council) are no longer required to display or present a permit at the HWRC or show ID to prove residency.

Medway Council cross border policy

Medway Council no longer permit Kent residents (who do not pay their Council Tax to Medway Council) to use any of the 3 Medway Council operated HWRCs (Capstone HWRC, Cuxton HWRC and Hoath Way HWRC).