Household waste recycling centres - charges for non-Kent residents

New cross border charging policy from 1 April 2023

From 1 April 2023, non-Kent residents who use any of our 19 Household Waste Recycling Centres (HWRCs), will be required to pay £10 to visit.

By non-Kent residents we mean any resident that does not pay Council Tax to one of the following Kent councils:

  • Ashford Borough Council
  • Canterbury City Council
  • Dartford Borough Council
  • Dover District Council
  • Folkestone and Hythe Borough Council
  • Gravesham Borough Council
  • Maidstone Borough Council
  • Sevenoaks District Council
  • Swale Borough Council
  • Thanet District Council
  • Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council
  • Tunbridge Wells Borough Council.

This also means Medway residents will be required to pay the £10 fee.

When you use our booking system, non-Kent residents will be told they have to pay £10 per visit/ booking on arrival at the HWRC site. This information will also be included on the confirmation emails. Our staff will request payment when you arrive and we reserve the right to request proof of residency.

Payment is by card only.

Read further information about the decision about the cross border charging policy.

Changes to the current Dartford permit scheme

A cross border permit scheme has been in place at Dartford HWRC for over 25 years, commonly known as the Dartford permit scheme. This permit scheme will end from 1 April 2023 and will be managed through the booking system.

This means from 1 April 2023, Dartford residents (those who pay Council Tax to Dartford Borough Council) will no longer be required to display or present a permit at the HWRC or show ID to prove residency, as this will be managed by the booking system.

Between 20 February 2023 and 1 April 2023, Dartford residents should continue to display their Dartford permit or show proof of address as usual. No new Dartford permits will be issued.

Medway Council cross border policy

We have been informed by Medway Council, that from 31 March 2023, Kent residents (residents who do not pay their Council Tax to Medway Council) will no longer be permitted to use any of the 3 Medway Council operated HWRCs (Capstone HWRC, Cuxton HWRC and Hoath Way HWRC).