Kent geography

There are approximately 1.7 million residents in the Kent and Medway area. Kent is divided into 12 local authority districts and Medway Unitary Authority. The Kent County Council area excludes Medway.

View Kent and Medway district areas on a map (PDF, 88.3 KB)

Each local authority and Medway Unitary Authority is further divided into civil parishes, electoral wards and electoral divisions.

Civil parishes

There are currently 309 civil parishes in the Kent County Council area and a further 11 in the Medway Unitary Authority area.

Create your own parish profile using Census 2021 Data

Build a custom area profile on the Office for National Statistics website.

Electoral wards

There are currently 271 electoral wards in the Kent County Council area and a further 22 electoral wards in the Medway Unitary Authority area.

Electoral divisions

Kent County Council is divided into 72 electoral divisions, which Kent County Councillors are elected to represent. View the maps of the 2017 County electoral divisions.

For information about Kent County electoral divisions and the councillors who represent them use our councillor search.

Ordnance Survey have an election maps website which gives more information about the electoral geography of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Information about the characteristics of the population within these areas are presented in the area profiles.

If you need help with any of the documents on this page or require any further information, call 03000 41 74 44 or email