Term dates

We're currently in term 4, which ends on Thursday 28 March.

Term dates for some schools may be different.

Contact your child's school to check staff training days or individual half term breaks.

Private and independent schools set their own term dates.

Term and holiday dates 2023 to 2024

Starts

Friday 1 September 2023

Ends

Friday 20 October 2023

School holidays

Monday 23 October to Friday 27 October 2023

Starts

Monday 30 October 2023

Ends

Friday 15 December 2023

School holidays

Monday 18 December 2023 to Monday 1 January 2024

Bank holidays

Monday 25 December and Tuesday 26 December 2023, and Monday 1 January 2024

Starts

Tuesday 2 January 2024

Ends

Friday 9 February 2024

School holidays

Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February 2024

Starts

Monday 19 February 2024

Ends

Thursday 28 March 2024

School holidays

Friday 29 March to Friday 12 April 2024

Bank holidays

Friday 29 March and Monday 1 April 2024

Starts

Monday 15 April 2024

Ends

Friday 24 May 2024

School holidays

Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May 2024

Bank holidays

Monday 6 May and Monday 27 May 2024

Starts

Monday 3 June 2024

Ends

Tuesday 23 July 2024

School holidays

Wednesday 24 July to Friday 30 August 2024

Bank holiday

Monday 26 August 2024

Term date calendars

You can download a PDF version of the term dates for the following years:

GCSE and A Level exam dates

The dates of GCSEs and A Levels exams are published by the awarding organisations:

If you don't know who the exam awarding organisation is you will need to check with your school.