Equality impact assessments

As a public body we must carry out equality impact assessments on all new policies, procedures, projects and services, to prevent unfair discrimination.

The equality impact assessment focuses on 9 areas:

  • age
  • disability
  • faith
  • sex
  • sex reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnership
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race
  • sexual orientation.

An equality impact assessment should be used to anticipate and identify the impacts of new policies, procedures, projects or services on these areas.

Managers should then make sure that any potential negative consequences are removed or balanced out by either changing the policy, procedure, project or service or introducing other measures alongside it.

The committees section shows the equality impact assessments and our key decisions.